Uni bits – Group working

Welcome again, to the series of Uni bits. Today I am going to write about another big issue/opportunity that we have at university. Group work!!

Yes, I know, it sounds quite scary and in some ways it really is, or least at the beginning. Most of us come from different experiences and backgrounds, for example during my high school as I ready said in one of my previous blog post https://wordpress.com/view/eibmtinalife16.wordpress.com I have been always supported and encourage to work individually. This meant being very uncomfortable when it comes to work in groups. Now I am going to write the pros and cons of group working, this helped me significantly to understand the meaning of it and trying to put all myself in the various tasks.

group-work-1 Cons:

-you have to SHARE and of course not everyone put the same effort when it comes to assignments, this is the hard bit for me as I am a very ambitious person that tries always to do her best.

-it can be hard to share your ideas and at the same time listen to other people ideas

-you don’t and can’t have control over everything that is happening as you usually do when working individually

community

Pros

-group-working play a significant role in ideas development, which is very important, particularly when it comes to debate and presentation

-you can divide the task and make your life easier, but as the same time in the end deliver a big project, that you would not be able to do on your own

-you can help each other. Everyone has his strength and weaknesses which will mean that there will always be someone you can talk with. In case no one know the ‘right answer’ then you can work together to find it

-it is a great way of meeting new people. I can’t even count how many people I have met through seminars, but particularly group meeting, and that is great to make the most from your time at university

-particularly talking about Business, this is how real world and work is going to be (you won’t choose you colleagues)

Answering to the possible Cons:

-university regulations, usually module leaders are very happy to talk and discuss if any of the group member do not contribute to the group work

-usually most of the group-work are around 20/30 % of the total mark of the module

So as you can see overall, group working is a ‘must’ experience, which is better to do at university (where you can make mistakes) than directly in the real world.

 

Leave a comment